“The Media”

I just read an article from Huffington Post that is so spot on I need to share it:

Let me tell you how “The Media” really works…

As a journalist, what is happening right now towards my profession (which is also a passion… because contrary to what people believe, you only put yourself through the journalism life style if it is your passion!.. it is not as glamorous as many people believe!) is difficult to deal with.

In fact, I told a co-worker a few days ago, I might need a counselor to make it through the next four years! Not because I hate the president but because of the attack on my career he has launched.. which is bigly unfair, peroid! (ha)

Because of what I do for a living, I get emails from all presidential campaigns. The Trump campaign  recently sent out an email that’s infuriating to me. This is the email:

Jamie,

President Trump needs your help right now.

The media, Hollywood elites, and Democrats have been distorting the president’s policies and deceiving the American people.

And at this very moment, we have less than 11 hours until our FIRST end-of-month FEC deadline.

If we don’t end the month strong, the media will use it against us as proof that the American people are not behind Trump’s presidency.

We’re counting on grassroots leaders like you to show the media that the American people are the heart and soul of this presidency.

Please contribute $100, $65, $50, $35, $20, or $10 to help us fight back against the media and show them that the American people are UNITED behind our president.

Jamie, it’s only been 11 days since President Trump took office, and the media has waged a nasty fight against him every single day.

And right now, the media can’t wait to get their hands on our first fundraising report. They’re hoping to see that the Democrat establishment and other far left organizations have raised more money than us.

But with your help, the media will see that the American people are fully behind our movement.

Please contribute $100, $65, $50, $35, $20, or $10 before our FIRST FEC end-of-month deadline to help us fight back against the media’s distortions.

Thanks,

Trump Headquarters

 

Now, how can I expect his supporters, like my MOMMA, to not blame my profession when emails like this are showing up in their in boxes and when the president calls us “the Opposition Party” in a nationally televised interview?

I take emails like that as a personal attack.

My first day of college in my “Introduction to Mass Media” class, my professor said, “Everyone has a story! You never know what a person has been through or what they have to say until you listen. That’s your job as a journalist. To really LISTEN, without judgement… to TELL THEIR STORIES!”

It’s a lesson I will carry with me until the day I die. It’s how I approach my career… and my life.

The summer between my junior and senior years of college, I did a two month internship with Project Vote Smart (it’s a great political resource, btw) and I took a Grey Hound from Manchester, Tennessee to Billings, Montana. It was a three-day journey and I met and talked to SO many interesting people. I didn’t talk much but listened. I kept a journal and the stories I heard and sometimes go back and read it to remember the passion I felt simply listening to people share their souls. Think about it, sometimes doesn’t it feel great to feel like you are being heard? That someone cares enough to listen?

That’s what I do for a living. I listen. I tell the stories that need to be told. Sometimes those stories uplift, sometimes they inspire, sometimes they enrage, sometimes they hold people accountable.. but no matter what, I am not putting a spin on anything.

 

 

One thought on ““The Media”

Leave a Reply

