Rage Deep in my Belly

I am the kind of person who likes to look at the bright side in life. You know… one of those glass half full sorts. I believe if you put good vibes into the universe, those good vibes will find their way back to you. I don’t get angry often and when I do, it doesn’t last long.

The current attack on my profession by the new White House administration is causing some slight rage deep within my belly though.

When I see stories like this : Trump Strategist Stephen Bannon Says Media Should ‘Keep Its Mouth Shut’

I want to scream. I want to kick and scream and tell Stephen Bannon what I think about him and the idea we should keep our mouths shut. No. That is not how America works.

Freedom of the press in the United States is protected by the First Amendment to the United States Constitution. This clause is generally understood as a means to prevent the government from interfering with the distribution of information and opinions. (source: Freedom of Press Foundation)

Yes, there are some news agencies that lean to the right and some that lean to the left. There are some out there now pretending to be legitimate news organizations that are nothing but propaganda. (These sites are the ones I seen shared most often too! ~Frightening)

Needless to say, in the age of the internet you can find articles and websites that will agree with your opinion, regardless of facts. There are a lot of places offering alternate facts these days (which by the way is another way of laying lies).

In case you’re wondering, NPR and the BBC are probably the most reliable outlets for information without bias.  NPR offers some other ways to know real vs. fake news in this article Fake Or Real? How To Self-Check The News And Get The Facts.

I suggest you read it. I suggest you share it.

Please know, no matter what happens in Washington D.C., this journalist will not be quiet. I will continue to do my job with integrity. Sharing facts without bias.

If you ever have a question about what is real and what isn’t, feel free to shoot me an email. I will happily clear things up for you.

Now, about that rage deep in my belly over the attack on my profession… I am looking for a bright side. I am looking for a way to deal with it but for now, I will put that rage into action and stand up for what I believe.

One thought on “Rage Deep in my Belly

Leave a Reply

