Let me introduce myself..

Hello and welcome to my blog.

My name is Jamie. I am a 38-year-old woman who works in TV news. I  love life, even when things get difficult. I am going to write about my life with a chronic disease in hopes of helping people understand what it is like to live in constant pain.

Let me start by saying, I don’t want anyone reading this to feel sorry for me. I think it is therapeutic to talk things through and this is a great way to do this.

Now, what is CRPS (previously names RSD)?  That’s a tough question to answer.

rsd.png

My CRPS started after a car crash in December of 1998. I was in remission for more than five years from 2006 to 2013. By remission I mean I lived with only moderate pain. Mostly a four or less on the pain scale. A doctor put me on a blood pressure pill without thinking about possible complications due to CRPS and the pill knocked me out of remission. Now, I average a pain level of seven to nine on a daily basis.

There are treatments to help but my insurance won’t pay for most of them. In fact, I recently moved from Oklahoma to Tennessee and have yet to be able to even get an appointment with a doctor. That’s how difficult it is to find treatment!

I am working on it though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

